Cyprus

Cyprus became independent from the United Kingdom in 1960. The republic has six *eparchies* (districts) with centrally appointed officers who are responsible for implementing central government policies (Council of Europe: Cyprus 2005, 2016; Varnava and Yakinthou 2011). The *eparchies* surpass the population threshold for regional government of an average of at least 150,000 inhabitants since the census of 2011. There have been plans to introduce directly elected district councils with the local elections of 2016 but enabling legislation was not adopted (Kombos 2017; National School of Government International 2014). We code *eparchies* as deconcentrated central government as of 1960.

Since a Cypriot *coup d'état* and Turkish invasion in 1974, the island is divided. One district and parts of two others are controlled by the Turkish–Cypriot government and the rest of the island is controlled by the Greek–Cypriot government. ¹ The Turkish part proclaimed independence in 1983 as the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which is recognized by Turkey only. The Greek–Cypriot government continues to claim authority over the whole island, and EU funds and policies apply to Turkish Cypriots as well as to Greek Cypriots.

The local tier consists of municipalities and communities and the capital city of Nicosia does not have a special administrative status (Council of Europe: Cyprus 2016).

Primary references

Cyprus. (1960). "Constitution of the Republic of Cyprus." August 16, 1960.

Secondary references

Assembly of European Regions. 2010. The State of Regionalism in Europe. Part II: What do Regions look like in Europe? An Overview for the 47 Member States of the Council of Europe, 48–50. Strasbourg: Assembly of European Regions.

Bahcheli, Tozun, and Sid Noel. 2013. "The Quest for a Political Settlement in Cyprus: Is a Dyadic Federation Viable?" *Publius: The Journal of Federalism*, 44(4): 659–680.

Commonwealth Local Government Forum. 2016. "The Local Government System in Cyprus." Available at:

http://www.clgf.org.uk/default/assets/File/Country_profiles/Cyprus.pdf

Committee of the Regions. 2011. Devolution Process in the European Union and the Candidate Countries. Devolution Schemes (Situation on January 2005 in 28 countries). Brussels: Committee of the Regions.

_

¹ The average population size for the five districts controlled by the government of Cyprus is 168,000 and the average for the total of six districts is 189,000 (Council of Europe: Cyprus 2016).

- Council of Europe. 1999. Structure and Operation of Local and Regional Democracy: Cyprus. Situation in 1998. Strasbourg: Council of Europe.
- Council of Europe. 2016. Local Democracy in Cyprus. Strasbourg: Council of Europe.
- Elazar, Daniel J. 1991. Federal Systems of the World. A Handbook of Federal, Confederal and Autonomy Arrangements, 80–87. London: Longman.
- Harloff, Eileen M. 1987. *The Structure of Local Government in Europe: Survey of 29 Countries*, 27–30. The Hague: International Union of Local Authorities.
- Humes, Samuel, and Martin, Eileen. 1969. *The Structure of Local Government. A Comparative Survey of 81 Countries*, 519–522. The Hague: International Union of Local Authorities.
- Kombos, Constantinos. 2017. "Cyprus." In *Report on the State of Regionalism in Europe*, 38–39. Brussels: Assembly of European Regions. Full country report available at: http://bit.ly/AER-cyprus
- National School of Government International. 2014. *Local Government Reform in Cyprus:* Final Options Report. Unit of Administrative Reform. Republic of Cyprus.
- Varnava, Andrekos and Christalla Yakinthou. 2011. "Cyprus: Political Modernity and the Structures of Democracy in a Divided Island." In John Loughlin, Frank Hendricks, and Anders Lidström (eds.), *The Oxford Handbook of Local and Regional Democracy in Europe*, 455–478. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
 - @Version, February 2021 author: Arjan H. Schakel

Self-rule in Cyprus

			Institutional	Policy scope	Fiscal autonomy	Borrowing autonomy	Representation		Self-rule
			depth				Assembly	Executive	Jen-Tule
Eparchies	ı	1960-2018	1	0	0	0	0	0	1

@Version, February 2021 – author: Arjan H. Schakel