Brunei Darussalam

Brunei Darussalam has 400,000 inhabitants. It boasts one of the highest GDP per capita in Asia,

thanks to vast oil and natural gas reserves. Brunei has three levels of administrative subdivision:

four daerah (districts), 38 mukim (wards) and hundreds of kampung (villages). Only the largest

of the four districts has a population of more than 150,000 and the average for the four is much

lower, so that the administrative divisions do not meet our population criteria.

Brunei was a British protectorate until 1984 (except during Japanese occupation for

1942-45). In the early 1950s Sultan Omar Ali pursued autonomy at the same time that Malaysia

sought to become an independent state. The sultan, who believed that Brunei was too small to

survive alone, initiated talks to join Malaysia as an autonomous region, similar to Singapore,

Sabah and Sarawak, but the talks broke down over control of Brunei's vast oil resources

(Saunders 2002). Brunei remained a British protectorate with extensive internal autonomy until

it become independent in 1984 (Poole 2009). It continues to be an absolute monarchy with

hereditary rule. National elections were abolished in 1970 though officials at the mukim level

are directly elected (Poole 2009: 148). The 1984 Constitution makes no mention of local

government or decentralization.

@version, November 2020 - author: Sarah Shair-Rosenfield

1

References

Primary Sources

Brunei Darussalam. (1984). Constitution.

Secondary Sources

Poole, Peter A. (2009). *Politics and Society in Southeast Asia*. London: McFarland & Company, Inc.

Saunders, Graham. (2002). A History of Brunei, 2nd Edition. New York: RoutledgeCurzon.