Barbados

Barbados is an island nation in the Lesser Antilles with just over 290,000 inhabitants. It was a British colony until independence in 1966, though like the Bahamas, it remained part of the British Commonwealth. In the 1990s there was a failed attempt to unite Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, and Guyana in a federation. Barbados has no intermediate tier.

Eleven parishes, inherited from the colonial era, provide local government. There has been no representative local government since the abolition of parish councils in 1959. However, at a level below the parish, the Constituency Council Act of 2009 created thirty councils composed of appointed (not elected) local representatives, tasked with collecting data, referring citizens to government agencies, and facilitating service delivery (Constituency Council Act 2009, Art. 5). Six councils were launched in July 2009 to pilot the program, and the remainder started up in 2010.¹

From 1959, three districts existed between the parish level and the central government—The Northern District, Southern District, and City of Bridgetown (Local Government Act 1958). These intermediate governments had elected assemblies with executives,² but do not meet our population criterion for inclusion and were dissolved between 1967 and 1969. There is no metro governance in Barbados.

@Version, Nov 2020 - author: S. Chapman-Osterkatz

¹ "Blackett: Constituency Councils on Track." *Nationnews*, February 14, 2015. http://www.nationnews.com. ² "The Barbados Parliament," http://www.nationnews.com.

web.archive.org/web/20070523083154/http://www.barbadosparliament.com/history.php>.